HDFC Small Cap Fund
Other options
The page shows the Growth option. The Regular plan’s other options have their own codes.
| Option | AMFI code | ISIN |
|---|---|---|
| Growth (this page) | 130502 | INF179KA1RZ8 |
| IDCW | 130501 | INF179KA1SB7, INF179KA1SA9 |
Small Cap Fund
HDFC Mutual Fund
Open-ended. Launched on 3 Apr 2008.
- NAV
- Data delayed
- AssetsAssets The market value of everything the scheme holds, less what it owes, as the fund house discloses it at each month-end.
- ₹40,801 cr
- 30 Sep 2026
- SIP fromSIP Systematic investment plan: a fixed sum put into the scheme at regular intervals, usually every month.
- ₹100
- a month
- BenchmarkBenchmark The market index the fund house names in the SID as the measure the scheme is compared against.
- BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index
- as the SID names it
- Riskometer
- Very High
- read by Felix on 28 Oct 2026
The SID and KIM are the final reference for every fact on this page.
The fund house also offers a Direct plan of this scheme, whose expenses are lower to the extent of the distribution commission.
Assets: the fund house’s month-end disclosure of 30 Sep 2026. Minimums: fund house documents, as read by Felix on 28 Oct 2026. Benchmark: the SID.
Mutual Fund investments are subject to market risks, read all scheme related documents carefully.
What it is
SEBI’s rule for a Small Cap Fund: at least 65% in shares of small-cap companies. Source: SEBI
What the SID allows it to holdSID Scheme information document: the scheme’s offer document, which sets out its objective, asset allocation, risks and expenses.
Source: the SID’s asset allocation, from fund house disclosures.
Riskometer
The risk of the scheme is Very High
As read by Felix on 28 Oct 2026. Fund houses review this level every month, and the fund house’s latest disclosure prevails: Riskometer disclosures, HDFC Mutual Fund
- Low
- Low to Moderate
- Moderate
- Moderately High
- High
- Very High
Benchmark: BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index. Its riskometer is published monthly by the fund house: Riskometer disclosures, HDFC Mutual Fund
Source: fund houses’ disclosures.
Who runs it
Chirag Setalvadsince 28 Jun 2014
Fund manager
Also manages HDFC Children's Fund, HDFC Mid Cap Fund, HDFC Retirement Fund - Equity Plan, HDFC Retirement Fund - Hybrid Debt Plan, HDFC Retirement Fund - Hybrid Equity Plan
Dhruv Muchhalsince 22 Jun 2023
Fund manager, foreign securities
Also manages HDFC Aggressive Hybrid Fund, HDFC Arbitrage Fund, HDFC Balanced Advantage Fund, HDFC Banking & Financial Services Fund, HDFC Banking and PSU Debt Fund, HDFC Business Cycle Fund, HDFC Children's Fund, HDFC Conservative Hybrid Fund, HDFC Consumption Fund, HDFC Corporate Bond Fund, HDFC Credit Risk Fund, HDFC Defence Fund, HDFC Dynamic Term Fund, HDFC ELSS - Tax Saver Fund, HDFC Equity Savings Fund, HDFC Flexi Cap Fund, HDFC Floating Interest Rates Fund, HDFC Focused Fund, HDFC Housing Opportunities Fund, HDFC Infrastructure Fund, HDFC Innovation Fund, HDFC Large & Mid Cap Fund, HDFC Large Cap Fund, HDFC Liquid Fund, HDFC Long Term Fund, HDFC Manufacturing Fund, HDFC Medium Term Fund, HDFC Medium to Long Term Fund, HDFC Mid Cap Fund, HDFC MNC Fund, HDFC Money Market Fund, HDFC Multi Asset Allocation Fund, HDFC Multi Cap Fund, HDFC Overnight Fund, HDFC Pharma And Healthcare Fund, HDFC Short Term Fund, HDFC Technology Fund, HDFC Transportation and Logistics Fund, HDFC Ultra Short Term Fund, HDFC Ultra Short to Short Term Fund, HDFC Value Fund
Bars on one scale, from the scheme’s launch. Other schemes A to Z. Source: fund house disclosures, as of 28 Oct 2026.
Codes and identity
from the SID and AMFI- Fund house
- HDFC Mutual Fund
- SEBI category
- Small Cap Fund
- Plan and option
- Regular plan – Growth
- Structure
- Open-ended
- Launched
- 3 Apr 2008
- AMFI code, Growth
- 130502
- ISIN, Growth
- INF179KA1RZ8
- IDCW INF179KA1SB7, INF179KA1SA9
- Registrar
- CAMS
- Fund house website
- hdfcfund.com ↗
ISINs of the IDCW options
HDFC Mutual Fund
HDFC Mutual Fund runs 87 schemes in their Regular plan: 22 equity, 15 debt, 6 hybrid, 31 index funds and ETFs, 13 other.
24 fund managers, in their current schemes for 3 years 1 month on average.
9 schemes launched in the last 12 months.
- All 87 schemes
- hdfcfund.com
- Registrar: CAMS
Source: fund houses’ disclosures, as of 28 Oct 2026.
Buying and selling
- SIP from
- ₹100, as the KIM states it
- Entry load
- Nil, since 1 Aug 2009
- Stamp duty
- 0.005% of the amount invested, since 1 Jul 2020
- Applicable NAV
- That business day’s, when the application and the money reach the fund house by the 3 pm cut-off; after it, the next business day’s
- Redemption money
- Within 3 working days of the redemption request
Sources: the scheme’s KIM for the minimums; SEBI for the entry load, cut-off and redemption timeline; Ministry of Finance for stamp duty.
The category: Small Cap Fund
All 37 schemesSchemes 9 to 18 of 37, A to Z; this scheme is marked.Schemes 12 to 16 of 37, A to Z; this scheme is marked.
| Scheme | Benchmark | Assets, ₹ cr (30 Sep 2026) | SIP from, ₹ | Launched |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carnelian Small Cap FundIn its NFO | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| DSP Small Cap Fund | BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index | 21,467 | 100 | 2007 |
| Edelweiss Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 7,000 | 100 | 2019 |
| Franklin India Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 14,257 | 500 | 2006 |
| Groww Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 966 | Not reported | 2026 |
| HDFC Small Cap Fund | BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index | 40,801 | 100 | 2008 |
| Helios Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 1,885 | Not reported | 2025 |
| HSBC Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 18,513 | 500 | 2014 |
| ICICI Prudential Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 9,791 | 100 | 2007 |
| Invesco India Small Cap Fund | BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index | 16,131 | 100 | 2018 |
| Scheme | Benchmark | Assets, ₹ cr (30 Sep 2026) | SIP from, ₹ | Launched |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Franklin India Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 14,257 | 500 | 2006 |
| Groww Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 966 | Not reported | 2026 |
| HDFC Small Cap Fund | BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index | 40,801 | 100 | 2008 |
| Helios Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 1,885 | Not reported | 2025 |
| HSBC Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 18,513 | 500 | 2014 |
Show all 37 schemes
| Scheme | Benchmark | Assets, ₹ cr (30 Sep 2026) | SIP from, ₹ | Launched |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abakkus Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 3,248 | Not reported | 2026 |
| Aditya Birla Sun Life Small Cap Fund | BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index | 6,120 | 100 | 2007 |
| Axis Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 30,678 | 100 | 2013 |
| Bajaj Finserv Small Cap Fund | BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index | 2,762 | Not reported | 2025 |
| Bandhan Small Cap Fund | BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index | 35,856 | 100 | 2020 |
| Bank of India Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 3,671 | 1,000 | 2018 |
| Baroda BNP Paribas Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 1,277 | 500 | 2023 |
| Canara Robeco Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 13,972 | 1,000 | 2019 |
| Carnelian Small Cap FundIn its NFO | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| DSP Small Cap Fund | BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index | 21,467 | 100 | 2007 |
| Edelweiss Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 7,000 | 100 | 2019 |
| Franklin India Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 14,257 | 500 | 2006 |
| Groww Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 966 | Not reported | 2026 |
| HDFC Small Cap Fund | BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index | 40,801 | 100 | 2008 |
| Helios Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 1,885 | Not reported | 2025 |
| HSBC Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 18,513 | 500 | 2014 |
| ICICI Prudential Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 9,791 | 100 | 2007 |
| Invesco India Small Cap Fund | BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index | 16,131 | 100 | 2018 |
| ITI Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 3,666 | 500 | 2020 |
| JM Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 941 | 100 | 2024 |
| Kotak Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 19,141 | 100 | 2005 |
| LIC MF Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 841 | 200 | 2017 |
| Mahindra Manulife Small Cap Fund | BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index | 5,373 | 500 | 2022 |
| Mirae Asset Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 5,819 | 99 | 2025 |
| Motilal Oswal Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 8,298 | 500 | 2023 |
| Nippon India Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 80,906 | 100 | 2010 |
| PGIM India Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 1,739 | 1,000 | 2021 |
| Quant Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 35,572 | 1,000 | 1996 |
| Quantum Small Cap Fund | BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index | 262 | 500 | 2023 |
| Samco Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 270 | Not reported | 2025 |
| SBI Small Cap Fund | BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index | 41,059 | 500 | 2009 |
| Sundaram Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 4,107 | 100 | 2005 |
| Tata Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 13,214 | 100 | 2018 |
| The Wealth Company Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 144 | Not reported | 2026 |
| TRUSTMF Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 3,877 | 1,000 | 2024 |
| Union Small Cap Fund | BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index | 2,732 | 500 | 2014 |
| UTI Small Cap Fund | NIFTY Smallcap 250 Total Return Index | 5,229 | 500 | 2020 |
Regular plan – Growth for every scheme. Source: fund houses’ disclosures; assets at month-end 30 Sep 2026; SIP minimums as read by Felix on 28 Oct 2026; benchmarks as each SID names them.
What changed
- 22 Jun 2023Dhruv Muchhal became a fund manager
- 28 Jun 2014Chirag Setalvad became a fund manager
- 3 Apr 2008Launched
- 10 Mar 2008NFO closed
- 11 Feb 2008NFO opened
Source: fund house disclosures and SEBI.
Documents
KIM Key information memorandum: the short summary of the SID that comes with every application form.HDFC Mutual Fund publishes the scheme’s documents on its website:
- Scheme information document (SID)
- Key information memorandum (KIM)
- Monthly factsheet
- Monthly portfolio disclosure
Felix links to the fund house’s own copies and never copies them.
Questions about this fund
Who manages it, and since when?
Chirag Setalvad, since 28 Jun 2014 (Fund manager); Dhruv Muchhal, since 22 Jun 2023 (Fund manager, foreign securities). Source: HDFC Mutual Fund’s disclosures.
What is the minimum SIP?
₹100 a month, as of 28 Oct 2026, from the fund house’s documents.
What is its benchmark?
BSE 250 SmallCap Total Return Index, as the SID names it. Felix shows the benchmark by name only.
When was it launched, and what was it called before?
It was launched on 3 Apr 2008.
How do I invest in it?
Read the SID and KIM on HDFC Mutual Fund’s website first. A mutual fund distributor can place your application in this scheme’s Regular plan. Investments made through a mutual fund distributor are in the Regular plan, which includes distributor commission.
What does “Regular plan – Growth” mean?
The Regular plan is the one bought through a distributor; its expenses include the distributor’s commission. In the Growth option, gains stay in the NAV and nothing is paid out.
Where are its documents?
On HDFC Mutual Fund’s website: the scheme information document (SID), the key information memorandum (KIM) and the monthly factsheet.
Mutual Fund investments are subject to market risks, read all scheme related documents carefully.
Data on this page
| Block | Source | For |
|---|---|---|
| Assets | Fund houses’ disclosures, at month-end | 30 Sep 2026 |
| Minimums | Fund house documents, as read by Felix | 28 Oct 2026 |
| Riskometer | Fund houses’ disclosures, as read by Felix | 28 Oct 2026 |
| Asset allocation | The SID, from fund house disclosures | 28 Oct 2026 |
| Fund managers | Fund house disclosures | 28 Oct 2026 |
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error
When you are ready, invest with a person.
The SID and KIM are the final reference for every fact on this page.